Handyman Wire

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 112 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Welcome Newcomers
Only registered users may only post in our forums. Please register and join our community.
Advertisement
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Smog check with "CAT not ready" #949445
12/19/18 01:14 PM
12/19/18 01:14 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 290
california
P
pppsyang Offline OP
enthusiast
pppsyang  Offline OP
enthusiast
P

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 290
california
I did a smog check on my 2008 Honda CRV. Everything passed but only with "CAT not ready". After driving the car for over 600 miles, the scanner still shows "not ready". What is the "driving cycle"? What should I do? I only have two more weeks till the registration expires. I live in California. Thank you.

Re: Smog check with "CAT not ready" [Re: pppsyang] #949447
12/19/18 01:22 PM
12/19/18 01:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 53,847
The Indianhead's Left Nostril....
CabinConnection Offline
Bigfoot
CabinConnection  Offline
Bigfoot
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 53,847
The Indianhead's Left Nostril....

Re: Smog check with "CAT not ready" [Re: pppsyang] #949448
12/19/18 01:39 PM
12/19/18 01:39 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 290
california
P
pppsyang Offline OP
enthusiast
pppsyang  Offline OP
enthusiast
P

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 290
california
Thanks CabinConnection. I will follow the steps.

The technician told me to just drive the car at freeway for 100 miles. After I drove the car for 200 miles, I used my scanner to check. The technician told me I accidentally reset the whole thing so I had to start all over. I did erase the code even though there was no code. Could that be the cause? I have to be careful next time.

Re: Smog check with "CAT not ready" [Re: pppsyang] #949449
12/19/18 01:40 PM
12/19/18 01:40 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 53,847
The Indianhead's Left Nostril....
CabinConnection Offline
Bigfoot
CabinConnection  Offline
Bigfoot
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 53,847
The Indianhead's Left Nostril....
Sorry - I have no idea.

Re: Smog check with "CAT not ready" [Re: pppsyang] #949493
12/19/18 10:03 PM
12/19/18 10:03 PM
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 12,307
Bristol,ny
code_ceis Offline
Carpal Tunnel
code_ceis  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 12,307
Bristol,ny
Yes when you hit erase it resets the system.


"I have studied many philosophers and many cats. The wisdom of cats is infinitely superior." - Hippolyte Taine

Do not be a Monday. No one likes Mondays.

Re: Smog check with "CAT not ready" [Re: CabinConnection] #949532
12/20/18 03:47 PM
12/20/18 03:47 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,527
Hudson Valley, New York
bilvihur Offline
Carpal Tunnel
bilvihur  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,527
Hudson Valley, New York
Originally Posted by CabinConnection


This site can’t be reached carfromjapan.com’s server IP address could not be found.
Try:

Checking the proxy, firewall, and DNS configuration
Running Windows Network Diagnostics
DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_BAD_CONFIG


Now it works!

Last edited by bilvihur; 12/20/18 03:49 PM. Reason: Update

MSI Mobo, Phenom II CPU, Win 7/64 Premium, 8GB DDR3 Ram, Chrome, Avast, Malwarebytes
Re: Smog check with "CAT not ready" [Re: bilvihur] #949533
12/20/18 03:53 PM
12/20/18 03:53 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 53,847
The Indianhead's Left Nostril....
CabinConnection Offline
Bigfoot
CabinConnection  Offline
Bigfoot
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 53,847
The Indianhead's Left Nostril....
Quote
This site can’t be reached carfromjapan.com’s server IP address could not be found.

Odd... Works fine here...

Re: Smog check with "CAT not ready" [Re: CabinConnection] #949580
12/20/18 10:48 PM
12/20/18 10:48 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,005
Connecticut, USA
FredDwyer Offline
Carpal Tunnel
FredDwyer  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,005
Connecticut, USA
Works fine here too.


________________________________________________________________________________________

I was always taught to honor my elders, but it's getting harder and harder to find any.

Fred
Re: Smog check with "CAT not ready" [Re: code_ceis] #949814
12/27/18 03:10 PM
12/27/18 03:10 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 290
california
P
pppsyang Offline OP
enthusiast
pppsyang  Offline OP
enthusiast
P

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 290
california
After another 600 miles, it is still not ready. Could there be anything wrong? I forgot to mention, after I erased the code, The o2 sensor was also not ready. So now, Cat monitor and o2 sensor are not ready.

After I scanned, I just turned the ignition to off. It is the right procedure? The instruction doesn't say anything about that. I hope it is not the cause of the problem.

Re: Smog check with "CAT not ready" [Re: pppsyang] #950070
01/02/19 02:39 PM
01/02/19 02:39 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 290
california
P
pppsyang Offline OP
enthusiast
pppsyang  Offline OP
enthusiast
P

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 290
california
The "Drive cycle" never worked. I did it about 10 times in the morning. Don't trust this kind of thing again.

After driving more than 1000 miles, the "not ready" suddenly disappear. Finally my car passed the smog check. I hope people will find a way to fix this design. I don't want to do it again in two years.


Moderated by  CabinConnection, Ernie 


Experts | Email Us | Disclaimer | HandymanWire home
Articles | We welcome your feedback.| Privacy
http://www.handymanwire.com
Handyman Wire
your resource for advice on home improvement and repairs.
Copyright ©1999-2019, Handyman USA LLC.
All rights reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.2
(Release build 20180918)
Page Time: 0.037s Queries: 14 (0.024s) Memory: 2.8732 MB (Peak: 3.0828 MB) Zlib disabled. Server Time: 2019-01-23 10:07:08 UTC