Handyman Wire

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (1 invisible), 156 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Welcome Newcomers
Unregistered users may only post in the handyman forum. If you register, you may post in any forum and use of CAPTCHA code is not required.
Advertisement
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
new lights...new ballast...not working #692268
11/09/11 07:19 PM
11/09/11 07:19 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 203
Southern Maryland
terrapin05 Offline OP
enthusiast
terrapin05  Offline OP
enthusiast

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 203
Southern Maryland
We're talking old 8-foot flourescent fixture. Took old ballast to supply store and got the newer, smaller replacement ballast. Wired in new ballast, put in bulbs and fixture worked for about 2 hours, then noticed it was not lit. Only thing I wasn't sure is new ballast had 2 blue wires and old one only 1. I just put both blues to the blue in the fixture. TIA. Also, not a supply issue because it runs parallel to light in front of it and that one works.

Last edited by terrapin05; 11/09/11 07:19 PM.
Re: new lights...new ballast...not working [Re: terrapin05] #692278
11/09/11 08:03 PM
11/09/11 08:03 PM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 9,810
Welland Ont. Canada
jdevlin Offline
Carpal Tunnel
jdevlin  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 9,810
Welland Ont. Canada
You need to check the wiring drawing on the ballast. I can guarantee that it doesn't have the two blue wires from the ballast connected to each other.
I suspect the new ballst is probably no good now.

Last edited by jdevlin; 11/09/11 08:04 PM.
Re: new lights...new ballast...not working [Re: terrapin05] #692297
11/09/11 09:43 PM
11/09/11 09:43 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,943
Illinois
M
MCA Offline
Carpal Tunnel
MCA  Offline
Carpal Tunnel
M

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,943
Illinois
As said check the diagram on the ballast. The new one is probably electronic and electronic ballasts for instant start 8 foots have an extra wire compared to the magnetic instant start 8 foots. The wiring configuration will be different. Re-wire it correctly, if it doesn't work try the tubes from a working fixture (if it works then the tubes are damaged). If it still doesn't work then the ballast may be damaged from mis-wiring.
Sometimes there is an extra lead to be capped off if it can be used for a 3rd tube. But for 8 foot fixture it is probably the different configuration for modern electronic ballasts.
Be sure you have the right tubes for the ballast (the right T and the right wattage as specified on the ballast). T8's and T12's will both fit but are not interchangible.

Last edited by MCA; 11/09/11 09:49 PM.
Re: new lights...new ballast...not working [Re: terrapin05] #692337
11/10/11 05:05 AM
11/10/11 05:05 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,943
Illinois
M
MCA Offline
Carpal Tunnel
MCA  Offline
Carpal Tunnel
M

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,943
Illinois
http://www.advance.philips.com/eCatalog/out/4140050862.pdf

Here's a link to a diagram for an electronic 2 tube F96T12 ballast which has a black, a white, 2 blues, and a red. Even though its still a T12 it is different than an old T12 magnetic ballast that has a black, white, red, and blue.
Most likely it wires like this...
*One new ballast blue to fixture blue.
*Other new ballast blue to fixture red.
*New ballast red to both sockets at the other end of the fixture.
*New ballast white to building white.
*New ballast black to building black.

In general...
T12 rapid start (2 pin tubes) electronic ballasts wire the same way was T12 rapid start magnetic ballasts.
T12 instant start (single pin tubes) electronic ballasts wire differently than T12 instant start magnetic ballasts.
T8 modified instant start (2 pins shorted) wire differently than T12 rapid start.

Always check the ballast wiring diagram printed on the ballast.

Last edited by MCA; 11/10/11 05:07 AM.
Re: new lights...new ballast...not working [Re: terrapin05] #947295
11/08/18 09:05 PM
11/08/18 09:05 PM
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
G
Griddigus Offline
newbie
Griddigus  Offline
newbie
G

Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
I have this same problem. The above reply is very helpful, however, I'm not sure how to connect the red wire to the socket - anyone have some tips or vids? Thanks!

Re: new lights...new ballast...not working [Re: Griddigus] #947307
11/08/18 10:53 PM
11/08/18 10:53 PM
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 12,200
Bristol,ny
code_ceis Offline
Carpal Tunnel
code_ceis  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 12,200
Bristol,ny
Always check the ballast wiring diagram printed on the ballast.


"I have studied many philosophers and many cats. The wisdom of cats is infinitely superior." - Hippolyte Taine

Do not be a Monday. No one likes Mondays.


Moderated by  CabinConnection, Ernie, SpeedyPetey 


Experts | Email Us | Disclaimer | HandymanWire home
Articles | We welcome your feedback.| Privacy
http://www.handymanwire.com
Handyman Wire
your resource for advice on home improvement and repairs.
Copyright ©1999-2016, Handyman USA LLC.
All rights reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.2
(Release build 20180918)
Page Time: 0.019s Queries: 14 (0.012s) Memory: 2.8337 MB (Peak: 2.9464 MB) Zlib disabled. Server Time: 2018-12-18 12:57:12 UTC