Handyman Wire

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (1 invisible), 156 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Welcome Newcomers
Unregistered users may only post in the handyman forum. If you register, you may post in any forum and use of CAPTCHA code is not required.
Advertisement
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Freezer Light freezes up #946719
10/26/18 01:56 AM
10/26/18 01:56 AM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 232
New Jersey
J
jaysmom49 Offline OP
enthusiast
jaysmom49  Offline OP
enthusiast
J

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 232
New Jersey
26 yr old Kenmore freezer on the bottom. Works great and I monitored the energy and it's pretty efficient for an old bird LOL!
The freezer light switch freezes up. I thawed it out with a hair dryer and the switch works just fine.
I did some research and the seals may be just "loose" enough to let the moisture in. I did replace the door seals a few years back but the part that Sears sent me just wasn't identical to the original but worked. Obviously, I don't want to spend the $$ on new seals (not cheap) for a 26 yr old fridge.
So, I'm looking for a "Rube Goldberg" solution if anyone has any ideas.
Otherwise, it's flashlight time for the freezer.
TIA

Re: Freezer Light freezes up [Re: jaysmom49] #946720
10/26/18 02:08 AM
10/26/18 02:08 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,850
Ont Canada
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel
jeff1  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,850
Ont Canada
Hi,

Quote:
26 yr old Kenmore freezer on the bottom


Model#?

Quote:
The freezer light switch freezes up.


Where is the light switch? Bottom, side, top? around the edge? How is the switch freezing up? Ice built up on the switch?

jeff.

Re: Freezer Light freezes up [Re: jaysmom49] #946721
10/26/18 10:14 AM
10/26/18 10:14 AM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 232
New Jersey
J
jaysmom49 Offline OP
enthusiast
jaysmom49  Offline OP
enthusiast
J

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 232
New Jersey
Model on door label is 62261. I'm going to have to search for more info when I get home from work later today.
Switch is on top edge. It doesn't move in and out but no signs of frost or ice. I used a hair dryer on it and it sprung back and forth just fine and the light turned on and off. After a few minutes of the door being closed, wouldn't move again. That's why I thought "freezing up".

Thanks for your help.

Re: Freezer Light freezes up [Re: jaysmom49] #946756
10/27/18 02:44 AM
10/27/18 02:44 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,850
Ont Canada
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel
jeff1  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,850
Ont Canada
Quote:
Model on door label is 62261


Usually a model/serial # tag is on the body and not on one of the doors.
http://www.applianceaid.com/model-number.php Some model# helps.
Kenmore model# are more like 123.45678910

Quote:
62261


I found these...
106.6226130 106.6226150 106.6226151 106.6226152 106.6226153 106.6226170

Quote:
Switch is on top edge. It doesn't move in and out but no signs of frost or ice


Kinda sounds like maybe just a bad switch. Some are linked here.

jeff.

Re: Freezer Light freezes up [Re: jaysmom49] #946757
10/27/18 03:32 AM
10/27/18 03:32 AM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 232
New Jersey
J
jaysmom49 Offline OP
enthusiast
jaysmom49  Offline OP
enthusiast
J

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 232
New Jersey
I found it 106.9622610. If I thaw it out (only takes a few seconds with a hair dryer), it works fine.
Still believe the switch is bad? That's the part that stumps me.

Re: Freezer Light freezes up [Re: jaysmom49] #946767
10/27/18 07:43 PM
10/27/18 07:43 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 232
New Jersey
J
jaysmom49 Offline OP
enthusiast
jaysmom49  Offline OP
enthusiast
J

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 232
New Jersey
I defrosted the switch again today and cleaned the seals. Light worked fine but there was a small stream of water coming out of the switch. Let it drain until it stopped. Closed freezer and the switch is stuck again. Now I'm wondering if there is some kind of gasket under the switch that works with the no-frost system. If I buy a new switch it doesn't look like it comes with any type of gasket just the switch.
Your thoughts??? Thanks.

Re: Freezer Light freezes up [Re: jaysmom49] #946772
10/28/18 02:52 AM
10/28/18 02:52 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,850
Ont Canada
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel
jeff1  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,850
Ont Canada
Quote:
106.9622610


That one works smile

Quote:
Now I'm wondering if there is some kind of gasket under the switch that works with the no-frost system


There is none. Power off first, pop out the switch and see if the insulation is wet or not. An over night defrosting and some new insulation pushed in around the switch area might be a good idea.

Quote:
If I buy a new switch it doesn't look like it comes with any type of gasket just the switch


Correct.


Rocker Switch

I don't know how you are getting water/moisture inside the divider.

jeff.

Re: Freezer Light freezes up [Re: jaysmom49] #947215
11/07/18 02:56 AM
11/07/18 02:56 AM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 232
New Jersey
J
jaysmom49 Offline OP
enthusiast
jaysmom49  Offline OP
enthusiast
J

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 232
New Jersey
Thanks, Jeff. While I still couldn't get my mind around why it was the switch especially when I took it out and the switch itself worked fine, I replaced it. The light is working fine now. Still don't know if the water had a factor in the switch failing but after 26 years almost to the day (10/30/92!), I certainly can't complain.
Thanks for your help.

Re: Freezer Light freezes up [Re: jaysmom49] #947263
11/08/18 03:08 AM
11/08/18 03:08 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,850
Ont Canada
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel
jeff1  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,850
Ont Canada
Thankx for the update.

jeff.


Moderated by  CabinConnection, Ernie 


Experts | Email Us | Disclaimer | HandymanWire home
Articles | We welcome your feedback.| Privacy
http://www.handymanwire.com
Handyman Wire
your resource for advice on home improvement and repairs.
Copyright ©1999-2016, Handyman USA LLC.
All rights reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.2
(Release build 20180918)
Page Time: 0.028s Queries: 14 (0.020s) Memory: 2.8646 MB (Peak: 3.0004 MB) Zlib disabled. Server Time: 2018-12-18 12:55:51 UTC