Handyman Wire

Who's Online Now
3 registered members (evh, 2 invisible), 205 guests, and 2 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Welcome Newcomers
Unregistered users may only post in the handyman forum. If you register, you may post in any forum and use of CAPTCHA code is not required.
Advertisement
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Thermostat Losing Clock Setting #945653
10/03/18 12:07 AM
10/03/18 12:07 AM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 202
SC
W
wirehead43 Offline OP
enthusiast
wirehead43  Offline OP
enthusiast
W

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 202
SC
Just installed a Honeywell #RTH6580WF1001/U1 programmable WiFi thermostat purchased at Lowes. After installing the "C-wire" for power it seems to be working fine except for one thing. When power is interrupted, even momentarily as during a glitch, the clock setting reverts back to 0:00 PM. I've not entered a program schedule yet as there's really no point so long as it keeps losing the clock setting. Neither have I setup the WiFi. I've checked the specs. but can't find anywhere it says the TStat does or does not have memory retention. Next step is to try and call Honeywell. Wondering if that's the way it should work or do I just have a bad TStat? Thanks for any help.

Re: Thermostat Losing Clock Setting [Re: wirehead43] #945654
10/03/18 12:09 AM
10/03/18 12:09 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 53,462
The Indianhead's Left Nostril....
CabinConnection Offline
Bigfoot
CabinConnection  Offline
Bigfoot
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 53,462
The Indianhead's Left Nostril....
Backup battery good and installed correctly?

Re: Thermostat Losing Clock Setting [Re: wirehead43] #945678
10/03/18 03:54 PM
10/03/18 03:54 PM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 202
SC
W
wirehead43 Offline OP
enthusiast
wirehead43  Offline OP
enthusiast
W

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 202
SC
This thermostat has no battery. I did learn it has a "super capacitor" that's intended to keep the clock running when power fails - but only for a minute or so. I spoke with Honeywell this morning and was told most all WiFi TStats do not have battery backup and will lose the clock when power fails. However, they will retain schedule settings. The clock and day of week must be manually reset. However, if you have an internet connection and if the TStat is able to reconnect with the web after the power fail, it will re-start the clock and resume the schedule. That's too many IF's for me - a poor design. I'm taking this one back to exchange for a programmable TStat with battery backup but which won't have WiFi. Reliability is more important than WiFi connectivity.

Re: Thermostat Losing Clock Setting [Re: wirehead43] #945680
10/03/18 04:18 PM
10/03/18 04:18 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 53,462
The Indianhead's Left Nostril....
CabinConnection Offline
Bigfoot
CabinConnection  Offline
Bigfoot
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 53,462
The Indianhead's Left Nostril....
DANG! I would have sworn mine had batteries! (Same model as you site in this thread.) So I just went and looked...

NOPE! None there! blush

But we have power outages frequently, often lasting for hours.

NEVER have I lost the settings on mine...

BTW, I love that particular 'stat. To the point where I've installed it in a number of accounts that I oversee. I get notified of power outages and excessive (hot or cold) temps via the 'Net. Plus I can remotely change the HVAC settings w/ my cell - REALLY nice when I've been away for an extended period of time and want to bring the temp back up (or down).

Re: Thermostat Losing Clock Setting [Re: CabinConnection] #945693
10/03/18 10:10 PM
10/03/18 10:10 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,180
PA
twoshoes Offline
Carpal Tunnel
twoshoes  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,180
PA
I believe this is how it is supposed to work. Once the wifi is set up and a connection with Honeywell is established, as soon as Honeywell loses connectivity to the thermostat the online program shows the down condition. When power is restored and the thermostat reconnects to Honeywell they clear the down error message from the program and resent the correct time to the thermostat. I have never needed to adjust the clock for power outages or daylight saving time changes on either of my thermostats setup this way.


Tom



Re: Thermostat Losing Clock Setting [Re: wirehead43] #945864
10/08/18 05:04 PM
10/08/18 05:04 PM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 202
SC
W
wirehead43 Offline OP
enthusiast
wirehead43  Offline OP
enthusiast
W

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 202
SC
I'm installing this thermostat in a church where maintaining the heat/cool schedule is very important. Since our internet router isn't strong enough to reach the thermostat, we've had to install a WiFi extender. With that said, I'm not convinced our internet connection is reliable enough to trust the time getting reset through the WiFi. We only wanted the WiFi connection for remote monitoring. Don't understand why Honeywell chose not to use a battery to maintain the clock. Maybe to save a buck or two.

Re: Thermostat Losing Clock Setting [Re: wirehead43] #946368
10/18/18 10:10 PM
10/18/18 10:10 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 511
Southwestern CT USA
BigJohnfromNY Offline
fanatic
BigJohnfromNY  Offline
fanatic

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 511
Southwestern CT USA
I recently installed the HW RTF9585 in my house. Also installed a TP Link range extender. Both are working great. If possible, I'd return the t-stat and get one with a battery. In this day and age I can see why manufacturers are phasing out battery backup t-stats. Perhaps you could also look into a better range extender like a mesh system which has multiple units. A little more expensive but maybe worth it.


I am lost. I have gone to look for myself. If I should return before I get back, please ask me to wait.

Moderated by  CabinConnection, Ernie 


Experts | Email Us | Disclaimer | HandymanWire home
Articles | We welcome your feedback.| Privacy
http://www.handymanwire.com
Handyman Wire
your resource for advice on home improvement and repairs.
Copyright ©1999-2016, Handyman USA LLC.
All rights reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.2
(Release build 20180918)
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 2.8448 MB (Peak: 2.9663 MB) Zlib disabled. Server Time: 2018-12-14 02:58:37 UTC