Handyman Wire

Who's Online Now
5 registered members (bilvihur, vid, 3 invisible), 134 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Welcome Newcomers
Only registered users may only post in our forums. Please register and join our community.
Advertisement
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Re-wiring 1956 Frigidaire stove #938911
05/16/18 10:35 PM
05/16/18 10:35 PM
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 3
1
1956Frigidaire Offline OP
newbie
1956Frigidaire  Offline OP
newbie
1

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 3
Hello Friends,

New member here. Am rebuilding a 1956 Frigidaire stove/range and am hung up on what type/kind of wire to use. I am given very general types to use. I have a copy of the wiring diagram that gives color of wire (There are 5 colors of wires in this machine), the gauge and the length of each wire.

Can any of you who have restored your machines give a specific wire to use...and state if different colors are available (Black, Red, White, Blue, Yellow, Brown)? I am told "High Heat"...but HOW High....Exactly what heat rating? Part number for manufacturer? Or give the writing on the wire itself? THHN? TGGT? AWM?

Please.

I am sorry if I am being too nick-picky but I do not want to be careless with 240V!

Thanks.\Jason

Re: Re-wiring 1956 Frigidaire stove [Re: 1956Frigidaire] #938924
05/17/18 02:01 AM
05/17/18 02:01 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,871
Ont Canada
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel
jeff1  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,871
Ont Canada
Hi,

Most wire for old ranges comes in 3 colours.
Red, white and black.
I'd use 14 gauge for removable elements like the surface elements and 12 gauge for power to the switches.
These come in 5 feet and 25 feet.

LINK> 12 GAUGE RANGE WIRE

LINK> 14 GAUGE RANGE WIRE

LINK> HI-TEMP 12GUAGE 25FT 3 STRAND

LINK> HI-TEMP 14 GUAGE 25FT 3 STRAND

LINK> Terminals - Wire - Non-insulated & High Temp

jeff.

Re: Re-wiring 1956 Frigidaire stove [Re: jeff1] #938929
05/17/18 03:43 AM
05/17/18 03:43 AM
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 3
1
1956Frigidaire Offline OP
newbie
1956Frigidaire  Offline OP
newbie
1

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 3
Thanks, Jeff. My stove actually has 7 colors! I have a copy of the wiring diagram, showing all the wires. Red, White, Black and Blue being the most. Do you know if that company has the same wire but in Blue? Thanks

Guess i could ask them, myself.

I'd post a photo of what I have, but this forum wants a URL for the image, which I do not have.

Re: Re-wiring 1956 Frigidaire stove [Re: jeff1] #938930
05/17/18 03:47 AM
05/17/18 03:47 AM
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 3
1
1956Frigidaire Offline OP
newbie
1956Frigidaire  Offline OP
newbie
1

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 3
Black , Red and Blue wires are used for the top burner elements. That is the area I am most concerned about with using high heat wires. I want the colors to be correct.

Re: Re-wiring 1956 Frigidaire stove [Re: 1956Frigidaire] #938971
05/17/18 08:47 PM
05/17/18 08:47 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 55,542
Huntsville AL
Able_Dog Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Able_Dog  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 55,542
Huntsville AL
Unless it's a restoration project you might consider colored tape to identify your wires.

Re: Re-wiring 1956 Frigidaire stove [Re: Able_Dog] #939005
05/18/18 02:15 AM
05/18/18 02:15 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,871
Ont Canada
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel
jeff1  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,871
Ont Canada
Don't believe that I have bought blue before.
I like the tape band idea or even a little shrink wrap to colour code the wires.



jeff.


Moderated by  CabinConnection, Ernie 


Experts | Email Us | Disclaimer | HandymanWire home
Articles | We welcome your feedback.| Privacy
http://www.handymanwire.com
Handyman Wire
your resource for advice on home improvement and repairs.
Copyright ©1999-2019, Handyman USA LLC.
All rights reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.2
(Release build 20180918)
Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 14 (0.012s) Memory: 2.8342 MB (Peak: 3.0094 MB) Zlib disabled. Server Time: 2019-01-23 17:43:53 UTC