Handyman Wire

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 164 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Welcome Newcomers
Unregistered users may only post in the handyman forum. If you register, you may post in any forum and use of CAPTCHA code is not required.
Advertisement
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Replacing toilet flapper #934618
03/10/18 07:56 PM
03/10/18 07:56 PM
Northern U.S. where the Winter...
H
Hammer Offline OP
enthusiast
Hammer  Offline OP
enthusiast
H

It's embarrassing to have to ask about this since it seems so simple.

I have a Fluidmaster flapper in the back of my toilet that is now leaking. I just want to replace it, but want to make sure it's done right because I had this problem some years ago and thought it would be easy to replace and it wasn't. I tried to remove the flapper from the white tube (drain pipe?) that it's attached to and ended up breaking one of the plastic hinges. That resulted in having to buy an entire new system which required taking the entire toilet apart. I don't want to go through that again just to replace the flapper. It seemed like it was going to be so simple last time but ended up being a nightmare.

So, is there a way to safely do it? It's just a Fluidmaster red flapper on a black plastic frame which is hinged to the white plastic drain pipe. How do I remove it without breaking the hinge? I looked on Youtube and I can't find a video that shows how to replace just the flapper. They only show how to replace the entire system which I don't need. I already have a spare flapper, so I'm ready to go.

The one in the toilet tank and the replacement I have look just like this: https://www.wilmar.com/Sku/19-1061/fluid...ByABEgIcyvD_BwE

Last edited by Hammer; 03/10/18 08:53 PM.
Re: Replacing toilet flapper [Re: Hammer] #934626
03/10/18 11:55 PM
03/10/18 11:55 PM
Wilmington, Delaware
Just_Bill Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Just_Bill  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Wilmington, Delaware
1. follow the directions.