Handyman Wire

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 155 guests, and 1 spider.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Welcome Newcomers
Unregistered users may only post in the handyman forum. If you register, you may post in any forum and use of CAPTCHA code is not required.
Advertisement
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
GE electric dryer #934557
03/09/18 01:59 AM
03/09/18 01:59 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 116
Jeffersonville, IN
O
osu1fan2002 Offline OP
member
osu1fan2002  Offline OP
member
O

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 116
Jeffersonville, IN
Does the white ground wire get connected to the the casing or the middle neural wire for a 3 wire electric dryer cord? I have seen posts both ways.

Thank you

Re: GE electric dryer [Re: osu1fan2002] #934558
03/09/18 02:41 AM
03/09/18 02:41 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 53,515
The Indianhead's Left Nostril....
CabinConnection Offline
Bigfoot
CabinConnection  Offline
Bigfoot
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 53,515
The Indianhead's Left Nostril....

Re: GE electric dryer [Re: osu1fan2002] #934560
03/09/18 03:28 AM
03/09/18 03:28 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,850
Ont Canada
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel
jeff1  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,850
Ont Canada
Hi,

The white wire should always be hooked up to the middle terminal. It is the ground that is attached to the cabinet or to a strap and middle terminal depending on the hook up and style of outlet plug.
http://www.applianceaid.com/general-dryer-information.php#3to4

jeff.

Re: GE electric dryer [Re: osu1fan2002] #934728
03/12/18 10:04 PM
03/12/18 10:04 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 116
Jeffersonville, IN
O
osu1fan2002 Offline OP
member
osu1fan2002  Offline OP
member
O

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 116
Jeffersonville, IN
Thank you

Re: GE electric dryer [Re: osu1fan2002] #934737
03/12/18 11:26 PM
03/12/18 11:26 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 116
Jeffersonville, IN
O
osu1fan2002 Offline OP
member
osu1fan2002  Offline OP
member
O

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 116
Jeffersonville, IN
So looking at my connection, I have that 3 grey wires from the cord connected to all 3, middle is on the middle nutrial of course, then I have a white wire connected to the middle nutrial that looks to go up inside the casing. It does not look like it has a ground strap like most pictures show. I have not felt the electrically running through it the last couple of days that I felt it the passed. So not totally sure what is going on here.

Re: GE electric dryer [Re: osu1fan2002] #934752
03/13/18 02:17 AM
03/13/18 02:17 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,850
Ont Canada
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel
jeff1  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,850
Ont Canada
Quote:
I have that 3 grey wires from the cord connected to all 3


So an 3 prong cord then?

Quote:
I have not felt the electrically running through it the last couple of days that I felt it the passed. So not totally sure what is going on here.


???

You have any pictures of your hook up?
Is this a new hook up?
https://www.wiringdoneright.com/dryer/

jeff.


Moderated by  CabinConnection, Ernie 


Experts | Email Us | Disclaimer | HandymanWire home
Articles | We welcome your feedback.| Privacy
http://www.handymanwire.com
Handyman Wire
your resource for advice on home improvement and repairs.
Copyright ©1999-2016, Handyman USA LLC.
All rights reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.2
(Release build 20180918)
Page Time: 0.075s Queries: 14 (0.067s) Memory: 2.8318 MB (Peak: 2.9463 MB) Zlib disabled. Server Time: 2018-12-18 13:49:33 UTC