Handyman Wire

Who's Online
0 registered (), 129 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Welcome Newcomers
Unregistered users may only post in the handyman forum. If you register, you may post in any forum and use of CAPTCHA code is not required.
Advertisement
Topic Options
#938911 - 05/16/18 05:35 PM Re-wiring 1956 Frigidaire stove
1956Frigidaire Offline
newbie

Registered: 05/16/18
Posts: 3
Hello Friends,

New member here. Am rebuilding a 1956 Frigidaire stove/range and am hung up on what type/kind of wire to use. I am given very general types to use. I have a copy of the wiring diagram that gives color of wire (There are 5 colors of wires in this machine), the gauge and the length of each wire.

Can any of you who have restored your machines give a specific wire to use...and state if different colors are available (Black, Red, White, Blue, Yellow, Brown)? I am told "High Heat"...but HOW High....Exactly what heat rating? Part number for manufacturer? Or give the writing on the wire itself? THHN? TGGT? AWM?

Please.

I am sorry if I am being too nick-picky but I do not want to be careless with 240V!

Thanks.\Jason

Top
#938924 - 05/16/18 09:01 PM Re: Re-wiring 1956 Frigidaire stove [Re: 1956Frigidaire]
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 09/24/03
Posts: 12732
Loc: Ont Canada
Hi,

Most wire for old ranges comes in 3 colours.
Red, white and black.
I'd use 14 gauge for removable elements like the surface elements and 12 gauge for power to the switches.
These come in 5 feet and 25 feet.

LINK> 12 GAUGE RANGE WIRE

LINK> 14 GAUGE RANGE WIRE

LINK> HI-TEMP 12GUAGE 25FT 3 STRAND

LINK> HI-TEMP 14 GUAGE 25FT 3 STRAND

LINK> Terminals - Wire - Non-insulated & High Temp

jeff.

Top
#938929 - 05/16/18 10:43 PM Re: Re-wiring 1956 Frigidaire stove [Re: jeff1]
1956Frigidaire Offline
newbie

Registered: 05/16/18
Posts: 3
Thanks, Jeff. My stove actually has 7 colors! I have a copy of the wiring diagram, showing all the wires. Red, White, Black and Blue being the most. Do you know if that company has the same wire but in Blue? Thanks

Guess i could ask them, myself.

I'd post a photo of what I have, but this forum wants a URL for the image, which I do not have.

Top
#938930 - 05/16/18 10:47 PM Re: Re-wiring 1956 Frigidaire stove [Re: jeff1]
1956Frigidaire Offline
newbie

Registered: 05/16/18
Posts: 3
Black , Red and Blue wires are used for the top burner elements. That is the area I am most concerned about with using high heat wires. I want the colors to be correct.

Top
#938971 - 05/17/18 03:47 PM Re: Re-wiring 1956 Frigidaire stove [Re: 1956Frigidaire]
Able_Dog Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 12/07/03
Posts: 53634
Loc: Huntsville AL
Unless it's a restoration project you might consider colored tape to identify your wires.

Top
#939005 - 05/17/18 09:15 PM Re: Re-wiring 1956 Frigidaire stove [Re: Able_Dog]
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 09/24/03
Posts: 12732
Loc: Ont Canada
Don't believe that I have bought blue before.
I like the tape band idea or even a little shrink wrap to colour code the wires.



jeff.

Top

Moderator:  CabinConnection, Ernie 


Experts | Email Us | Disclaimer | HandymanWire home
Articles | We welcome your feedback.| Privacy
http://www.handymanwire.com
Handyman Wire
your resource for advice on home improvement and repairs.
Copyright ©1999-2016, Handyman USA LLC.
All rights reserved.