Handyman Wire

Who's Online
1 registered (Gary O'), 196 Guests and 2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Welcome Newcomers
Unregistered users may only post in the handyman forum. If you register, you may post in any forum and use of CAPTCHA code is not required.
Advertisement
Topic Options
#934557 - 03/08/18 08:59 PM GE electric dryer
osu1fan2002 Offline
member

Registered: 08/24/07
Posts: 116
Loc: Jeffersonville, IN
Does the white ground wire get connected to the the casing or the middle neural wire for a 3 wire electric dryer cord? I have seen posts both ways.

Thank you

Top
#934558 - 03/08/18 09:41 PM Re: GE electric dryer [Re: osu1fan2002]
CabinConnection Offline
Bigfoot
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 01/20/04
Posts: 52160
Loc: The Indianhead's Left Nostril....

Top
#934560 - 03/08/18 10:28 PM Re: GE electric dryer [Re: osu1fan2002]
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 09/24/03
Posts: 12752
Loc: Ont Canada
Hi,

The white wire should always be hooked up to the middle terminal. It is the ground that is attached to the cabinet or to a strap and middle terminal depending on the hook up and style of outlet plug.
http://www.applianceaid.com/general-dryer-information.php#3to4

jeff.

Top
#934728 - 03/12/18 06:04 PM Re: GE electric dryer [Re: osu1fan2002]
osu1fan2002 Offline
member

Registered: 08/24/07
Posts: 116
Loc: Jeffersonville, IN
Thank you

Top
#934737 - 03/12/18 07:26 PM Re: GE electric dryer [Re: osu1fan2002]
osu1fan2002 Offline
member

Registered: 08/24/07
Posts: 116
Loc: Jeffersonville, IN
So looking at my connection, I have that 3 grey wires from the cord connected to all 3, middle is on the middle nutrial of course, then I have a white wire connected to the middle nutrial that looks to go up inside the casing. It does not look like it has a ground strap like most pictures show. I have not felt the electrically running through it the last couple of days that I felt it the passed. So not totally sure what is going on here.

Top
#934752 - 03/12/18 10:17 PM Re: GE electric dryer [Re: osu1fan2002]
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 09/24/03
Posts: 12752
Loc: Ont Canada
Quote:
I have that 3 grey wires from the cord connected to all 3


So an 3 prong cord then?

Quote:
I have not felt the electrically running through it the last couple of days that I felt it the passed. So not totally sure what is going on here.


???

You have any pictures of your hook up?
Is this a new hook up?
https://www.wiringdoneright.com/dryer/

jeff.

Top

Moderator:  CabinConnection, Ernie 


Experts | Email Us | Disclaimer | HandymanWire home
Articles | We welcome your feedback.| Privacy
http://www.handymanwire.com
Handyman Wire
your resource for advice on home improvement and repairs.
Copyright ©1999-2016, Handyman USA LLC.
All rights reserved.