Handyman Wire

Who's Online
0 registered (), 209 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Welcome Newcomers
Unregistered users may only post in the handyman forum. If you register, you may post in any forum and use of CAPTCHA code is not required.
Advertisement
Topic Options
#929326 - 12/22/17 03:07 PM windows 7 upgrade
jdevlin Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 09/09/02
Posts: 9715
Loc: Welland Ont. Canada
I have a PC with windows 7 ultimate. It is not legal version. I have a windows 7 pro legal key and want to downgrade. Only problem is my pro disk does not have sp1 integrated so i get an error. I can't uninstall sp1 so I need a new ISO with sp1 integrated.

Downloaded the ISO file. Now the question. Can I run the upgrade from an HD or must I burn a CD? The HD will not be the one I am installing on. How about a partition on the same HD as install?

Top
#929342 - 12/22/17 06:10 PM Re: windows 7 upgrade [Re: jdevlin]
jdevlin Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 09/09/02
Posts: 9715
Loc: Welland Ont. Canada
Never mind. I put it on a stick.

Top
#929374 - 12/23/17 07:26 AM Re: windows 7 upgrade [Re: jdevlin]
AnthraciteSparky Offline
Handyman

Registered: 12/18/14
Posts: 720
Loc: Central Pennsylvania
With Windows 10 being free and a really stable operation why not there ?
_________________________
"Me, I'm just a lawnmower, you can tell me by the way I walk"

Top
#929376 - 12/23/17 08:43 AM Re: windows 7 upgrade [Re: AnthraciteSparky]
jdevlin Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 09/09/02
Posts: 9715
Loc: Welland Ont. Canada
Originally Posted By AnthraciteSparky
With Windows 10 being free and a really stable operation why not there ?

I may try it in the future, but not at this time.
I don't like the fact that I can not turn off updates for one.
I just wish they would quit changing the gui. I liked the way XP looked and worked. I have 7 configured to look similar with a quick launch bar and no pinned programs or doubled up window buttons at the bottom.

Top
#929402 - 12/23/17 03:42 PM Re: windows 7 upgrade [Re: AnthraciteSparky]
FredDwyer Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 01/19/08
Posts: 2879
Loc: Connecticut, USA
Originally Posted By AnthraciteSparky
With Windows 10 being free and a really stable operation why not there ?


Last I checked 10 was not free. When first announced they had a period offering it free, but that period expired.
_________________________
________________________________________________________________________________________

I was always taught to honor my elders, but it's getting harder and harder to find any.

Fred

Top
#929483 - 12/26/17 09:07 AM Re: windows 7 upgrade [Re: FredDwyer]
Able_Dog Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 12/07/03
Posts: 53902
Loc: Huntsville AL
Originally Posted By FredDwyer
Originally Posted By AnthraciteSparky
With Windows 10 being free and a really stable operation why not there ?


Last I checked 10 was not free. When first announced they had a period offering it free, but that period expired.


Yes and no. Available free till the end of the year "if you use assistive technologies"

Quote:
You qualify for the free upgrade if you use assistive technologies, which include such features as a magnifier to better see the screen, a narrator to read text aloud, keyboard shortcuts and an on-screen keyboard. Such tech is "designed to provide additional accessibility to individuals who have physical or cognitive difficulties, impairments, and disabilities,"

Top

Moderator:  CabinConnection, Ernie 


Experts | Email Us | Disclaimer | HandymanWire home
Articles | We welcome your feedback.| Privacy
http://www.handymanwire.com
Handyman Wire
your resource for advice on home improvement and repairs.
Copyright ©1999-2016, Handyman USA LLC.
All rights reserved.