Handyman Wire

Who's Online
0 registered (), 207 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Welcome Newcomers
Unregistered users may only post in the handyman forum. If you register, you may post in any forum and use of CAPTCHA code is not required.
Advertisement
Topic Options
#920769 - 08/10/17 06:17 AM I need a switched DC circuit - 1968 Firebird.
notnew2diy Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 08/18/06
Posts: 4207
Loc: harvard, il.
After market radio is wired to a constant hot in the fuse box, drains battery.
Fuse box has 2 open spades, none of which are hot, even w/the key turned on.
Fuse box has 1 switched spade, currently runs after market gauges, and another accessory I've yet to follow. I big time hesitate to add another circuit to this spade for fear of overloading the factory wire harness.

Yes, I could put in a switch before the radio, but would prefer a cleaner look.
Any ideas?

Thanks much...notnew...
_________________________
Thanks to all US military veterans.

Top
#920774 - 08/10/17 08:21 AM Re: I need a switched DC circuit - 1968 Firebird. [Re: notnew2diy]
bilvihur Online   content
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 02/04/05
Posts: 2844
Loc: Hudson Valley, New York
I think the current draw would depend on the wattage of the speakers the radio is driving. What's it rated?
_________________________
MSI Mobo, Phenom II CPU, Win 7/64 Premium, 8GB DDR3 Ram, Chrome, 360 AV, Malwarebytes

Top
#920854 - 08/11/17 09:41 PM Re: I need a switched DC circuit - 1968 Firebird. [Re: notnew2diy]
Holmesuser01 Offline
Super Handyman

Registered: 05/15/05
Posts: 1674
Loc: Asheville, NC USA
The constant hot should only be connected to the circuit that keeps the presets and clock running. The switched with the key circuit runs the rest of the radio.

What about the line that ran the OEM radio?


Edited by Holmesuser01 (08/11/17 09:42 PM)

Top
#920867 - 08/12/17 07:02 AM Re: I need a switched DC circuit - 1968 Firebird. [Re: notnew2diy]
notnew2diy Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 08/18/06
Posts: 4207
Loc: harvard, il.
Installed is the SST model.... Secret Audio

Does have an inline 15a fuse.

Have yet to look at a wiring schematic, to see if vehicle connections would handle the draw, what else is on that circuit, if the wiring still exists.

Thanks much...notnew...
_________________________
Thanks to all US military veterans.

Top

Moderator:  CabinConnection, Ernie 


Experts | Email Us | Disclaimer | HandymanWire home
Articles | We welcome your feedback.| Privacy
http://www.handymanwire.com
Handyman Wire
your resource for advice on home improvement and repairs.
Copyright ©1999-2016, Handyman USA LLC.
All rights reserved.