Handyman Wire

Who's Online
6 registered (code_ceis, twoshoes, swinghammer, 3 invisible), 132 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Welcome Newcomers
Unregistered users may only post in the handyman forum. If you register, you may post in any forum and use of CAPTCHA code is not required.
Advertisement
Topic Options
#902557 - 01/10/17 11:15 AM Support
boyes37 Offline
Handyman

Registered: 02/22/04
Posts: 690
Loc: Canada
Well now google is no longer supporting my Microsoft Essintials security program so I guess I need to find another security system or as they say change to window 10 or buy a new computer as they say my PC will not handle windows 10 because it is more than 6 years old.... I wonder what you guys think of a program called scanguard...it has been suggested....or can you give some other advice....I am now running Vista and being old as I am I don't want to go through the suggestion of learning windows 10 as some of the things I read on the site windows 10 is a headace. I only use the computer for emails, a few sites like this one and news...your suggestions will be appreciated.
_________________________
Boyes37

Top
#902562 - 01/10/17 11:23 AM Re: Support [Re: boyes37]
CabinConnection Online   content
Bigfoot
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 01/20/04
Posts: 47941
Loc: The Indianhead's Left Nostril....
Security Essentials is a Microsoft product. Not Google.

Should work with Vista. From Microsoft's website:

Microsoft Security Essentials is free* and easy to download and use. Here's what you need to run it:
•Operating System: Windows Vista (Service Pack 1 or Service Pack 2), Windows 7
•A PC with a CPU clock speed of 1.0 GHz or higher, and 1 GB RAM or higher.
•VGA display of 800 × 600 or higher.
•200 MB of available hard disk space.
•An Internet connection is required for installation and to download the latest virus and spyware definitions for Microsoft Security Essentials.
• Internet Browser:
•Windows Internet Explorer 6.0 or later.
• Mozilla Firefox 2.0 or later.

Top
#902571 - 01/10/17 11:54 AM Re: Support [Re: boyes37]
boyes37 Offline
Handyman

Registered: 02/22/04
Posts: 690
Loc: Canada
Sorry about the Google Microsoft mix up...I have run Microsoft Security for years and had no problem but lately I have had trouble downloading the latest definitions and this morning the PC said that it is no longer supported and it says the PC is no longer protected ...so now I am confused which doesn't take much to do...can you help?
_________________________
Boyes37

Top
#902579 - 01/10/17 12:38 PM Re: Support [Re: boyes37]
CabinConnection Online   content
Bigfoot
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 01/20/04
Posts: 47941
Loc: The Indianhead's Left Nostril....
Originally Posted By boyes37
...can you help?

Unfortunately, no. Maybe wait for one of the computer experts here, or go to MS themselves. < HERE > is where I found the requirements I posted above. Maybe try a removal and re-install?

All this is assuming the notice(s) you got were legit, and not a hoax of some sort...

Top
#902599 - 01/10/17 02:51 PM Re: Support [Re: boyes37]
jdevlin Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 09/09/02
Posts: 9234
Loc: Welland Ont. Canada
MS site says Windows 7 and Vista are compatible with security essentials.

Top
#902647 - 01/10/17 08:56 PM Re: Support [Re: boyes37]
Joe_Guy Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 03/21/04
Posts: 4070
Loc: Redwood City CA
Microsoft essentials should work on Vista. But whether it does or doesn't, you can use the free version of Avira.

I use it and it works very well.

Top
#902659 - 01/11/17 06:42 AM Re: Support [Re: boyes37]
CabinConnection Online   content
Bigfoot
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 01/20/04
Posts: 47941
Loc: The Indianhead's Left Nostril....
boyes - Google "scanguard scam" and read the articles.
whistle

Top
#902926 - 01/13/17 01:33 PM Re: Support [Re: boyes37]
boyes37 Offline
Handyman

Registered: 02/22/04
Posts: 690
Loc: Canada
Well I deleted microsoft security essentials and loaded Avira and it says that my computer does not support it and yet it also says that the PC is secured and all things are working correctly.
So now I am really confused how can all things work correctly when my PC does not support it....am I protected or no protected?
_________________________
Boyes37

Top

Moderator:  CabinConnection, Ernie, saugen48 


Experts | Email Us | Disclaimer | HandymanWire home
Articles | We welcome your feedback.| Privacy
http://www.handymanwire.com
Handyman Wire
your resource for advice on home improvement and repairs.
Copyright ©1999-2016, Handyman USA LLC.
All rights reserved.