Handyman Wire

Who's Online
4 registered (JasonB, shooter, CabinConnection, 1 invisible), 27 Guests and 9 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Welcome Newcomers
Unregistered users may only post in the handyman forum. If you register, you may post in any forum and use of CAPTCHA code is not required.
Advertisement
Topic Options
#701180 - 01/17/12 08:18 AM cooktop problems.
bones774 Offline
Handyman

Registered: 11/26/07
Posts: 759
Loc: Orange County NY
I have a glass cooktop with downdraft JennAir Mdl#jed8230adb, the other day the circuit blew(she thinks) my wife flipped it back on and it worked for some days, this AM it was not working and I checked, the circuit was not thrown and I could hear the fan on very quietly but no heat from cooktop. any suggestions where to start. I did a qucik check a breaker panel and get full voltage outta the breaker.
Thanks

Correction, the breaker never tripped, my wife reset the a/c compressor breaker which i had turned off for winter.


Edited by bones774 (01/17/12 11:12 AM)

Top
#701205 - 01/17/12 12:08 PM Re: cooktop problems. [Re: bones774]
bones774 Offline
Handyman

Registered: 11/26/07
Posts: 759
Loc: Orange County NY
Ive done some volt testing and there is 120 volts at each prong where the glass cooktop inserts, and it does turnoff with the switch. Normally it would indicate a bad cooktop surface, but both going bad at the same time, find unlikely. and they have been turning on intermittently anywhere from full power to just warm.

two red pilot lights are also acting funny, off/on/dim, as a matter of fact one of them is completely out, could that make the whole countertop go screwy?
there really does not seem to be that many parts to the whole thing.


Edited by bones774 (01/17/12 04:16 PM)

Top
#701282 - 01/17/12 07:24 PM Re: cooktop problems. [Re: bones774]
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 09/24/03
Posts: 11523
Loc: Ont Canada
Quote:
Ive done some volt testing and there is 120 volts at each prong where the glass cooktop inserts


You measuring to ground? Should measure accross the pins and get 220-240 volts AC.

Quote:
and they have been turning on intermittently anywhere from full power to just warm


The elements?...by themselves?

Quote:
two red pilot lights are also acting funny, off/on/dim, as a matter of fact one of them is completely out, could that make the whole countertop go screwy?


Nope the pilot light shouldn't mess up other things.

I have seen where one of the surface switch contacts welds closed and that has effected other elements....not comming on fully, low or warm only.
Something loose/burnt in the mian power could/would/should effect everything at once.

jeff.

Top
#702224 - 01/23/12 06:50 AM Re: cooktop problems. [Re: jeff1]
bones774 Offline
Handyman

Registered: 11/26/07
Posts: 759
Loc: Orange County NY
not much wiring to the unit, i opened it up and there is just one black junction box that i see.

Top
#702268 - 01/23/12 09:46 AM Re: cooktop problems. [Re: bones774]
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 09/24/03
Posts: 11523
Loc: Ont Canada
Originally Posted By: bones774
not much wiring to the unit, i opened it up and there is just one black junction box that i see.


??

jeff.

Top
#702277 - 01/23/12 10:15 AM Re: cooktop problems. [Re: jeff1]
bones774 Offline
Handyman

Registered: 11/26/07
Posts: 759
Loc: Orange County NY
Followup, I found a schematic and looked it over, after seeing how little wiring there was and the limited possibility that the two grids and switches all failed at the same time, I took a look at the connections to the stove. After removing all the electrical tape, the "wire bolts" and wiring "looked" fine but when I put a wrench to them they were pretty loose, so now after tightening all seems fine. I learned a lesson there, you can't always tell by "looks". Let's see if it gets us thru dinner tonight. Thanks.

Top
#702349 - 01/23/12 02:40 PM Re: cooktop problems. [Re: bones774]
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 09/24/03
Posts: 11523
Loc: Ont Canada
Hope it stays working a while!

jeff.

Top
#706947 - 02/26/12 08:49 AM Re: cooktop problems. [Re: jeff1]
bones774 Offline
Handyman

Registered: 11/26/07
Posts: 759
Loc: Orange County NY
Originally Posted By: jeff1
Hope it stays working a while!

jeff.


Ha,
My wife went to use stovetop this AM and same problem I could just slightly hear the fan going when in ON position. I went to circuit panel and cycled the breaker, I noticed a spark from the side of breaker(oven was on and load across circuit)but it did cure the problem for now, could the breaker itself be bad? The last time the wire nuts were definitely loose and i thought that solved the problem. Thanks

Top
#707000 - 02/26/12 08:35 PM Re: cooktop problems. [Re: bones774]
jeff1 Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 09/24/03
Posts: 11523
Loc: Ont Canada
A bad main breaker will effect everything at once.

jeff.

Top



Moderator:  Ernie, FranS 


Experts | Email Us | Disclaimer | HandymanWire home
Articles | We welcome your feedback. | Privacy
http://www.handymanwire.com
Handyman Wire
your resource for advice on home improvement and repairs.
Copyright 2014, Handyman USA LLC.
All rights reserved.