Handyman Wire

Who's Online
5 registered (Able_Dog, CabinConnection, e_a_g_l_e_p_i, DonkeyDave, 1 invisible), 60 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Welcome Newcomers
Unregistered users may only post in the handyman forum. If you register, you may post in any forum and use of CAPTCHA code is not required.
Advertisement
Topic Options
#178802 - 05/03/05 08:02 PM Culligan Water Softener E1 error
sholm Offline
first timer

Registered: 05/03/05
Posts: 8
Loc: Waconia, MN
Hello everyone. Browsed for months finally registered.

I got a Culligan Mark 100 water softener. Previous owners bypassed it. When I finally plugged it back in and un-bypassed(if that is even a word) and configured softener for the settings it said in the manual, I got the E1 message after the salt tank was filled up which is at the end of the regen cycle.

Called Culligan and another sevice CO with no answers but they want to stop out and look at it.

Any info on the error message and what I may or maynot be getting myself into.

Thanks in adv,

Scott

Top
#178803 - 05/04/05 09:00 AM Re: Culligan Water Softener E1 error
Dennis_H_N.J. Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 03/12/02
Posts: 25627
Loc: Toms River, N.J.
Try a manual "regen" then see what happens.. It may have to cycle thru!!
_________________________
<<< Next time....... Think before you vote!>>>


Top
#178804 - 05/04/05 09:11 AM Re: Culligan Water Softener E1 error
sholm Offline
first timer

Registered: 05/03/05
Posts: 8
Loc: Waconia, MN
I do get this error on any regen cycle, weather I do it manually (holding in the Regen button for 5sec) or changing the regen time.

To clear, I have do a reset but it is reoccuring.

Thank you,

Scott

Top
#178805 - 05/04/05 09:15 AM Re: Culligan Water Softener E1 error
Gary_Slusser Offline
Handyman

Registered: 03/15/04
Posts: 729
Loc: Wherever I park the motorhome
In the back of most manuals are troubleshooting instructions and error code explanations. An error 01 should be fairly common, and Culligan could tell you what to check for if only they would... check out their web site for more info on error codes or troubleshooting, although they may not have them there.

Gary
Quality Water Associates
_________________________
Gary Slusser 22 yrs in water treatment and well pumps, 13 yrs helping people on the 'net.

Top
#178806 - 05/05/05 09:22 AM Re: Culligan Water Softener E1 error
pokey_da_man Offline
journeyman

Registered: 06/16/04
Posts: 71
I also have a culligan water softener. I have had this problem on 2 occasions. 1st time it was an internal error and just unplugging for a few minutes re-set the softener and it worked fine. 2nd time a piston was stuck inside the head during the rinse cycle and I got the same error message. Culligan came out and fixed the problem......

Top
#178807 - 05/05/05 11:50 AM Re: Culligan Water Softener E1 error
sholm Offline
first timer

Registered: 05/03/05
Posts: 8
Loc: Waconia, MN
Thank you for the information.

I will let you know how it turns out.

Top





Experts | Email Us | Disclaimer | HandymanWire home
Articles | We welcome your feedback. | Privacy
http://www.handymanwire.com
Handyman Wire
your resource for advice on home improvement and repairs.
Copyright 2014, Handyman USA LLC.
All rights reserved.